The land of everything…

Big Island, Hawaii

May life always be this beautiful.

I recently returned to the Big Island of Hawai’i for the first time in 15 years.   The last time I set foot there, I was young and more interested in the water slides  at the Hilton Waikaloa than anything that lay beyond the resort’s perimeters.  This time, though, I was filled with a sense of wonder and excitement that I usually reserve for new and unfamiliar destinations.  Now well into adulthood, it felt as though I was seeing the island with a new pair of eyes.  Eyes that appreciate and understand raw beauty, a slower pace of life and the meaning of aloha.

For the next week or two, I will share with you the joys and stories of this invigorating and rejuvenating holiday in the land of everything: Kona coffee, active volcanoes, orchid country, macadamia nut farms, countless farmer’s markets, hidden eateries, rocky coastlines, snow, surf, waterfalls, famed micro-breweries and stunning landscapes.  All of which happens to be only a 40-minute plane ride from the place I’ve grown up calling home – O’ahu.

I leave you with this photo I took of a sunset on the northwestern coast in Kawaihae.

Leave a Reply

