A Lazy Day in Paradise

One of a half dozen public access paths to Lanikai Beach

After an intense yoga class yesterday morning, I wanted nothing more than to veg outdoors and in peace.  My first instinct was to avoid Waikiki because of the sheer number of people who splash themselves across the sand in the loudest and most unbecoming of ways.  Instead, I decided to go somewhere that falls off more than 80% of visitors’ radars: Lanikai Beach.

Constantly voted one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and used as a backdrop for countless ad campaigns, this 1/2 mile stretch of beach is the epitome of island beauty and solitude (during the weekdays, of course).  It’s the locals choice beach and makes for a blissful day of swimming, walking, and reading.

Lanikai Beach and the Mokulua Islands

And that is precisely what I did all afternoon.  It was a rather mellow day at Lanikai – yay for Tuesdays – but I wouldn’t have minded witnessing one of those fantastic sand-filled weddings visitors from Japan like to have.  The men don tuxedos and they “ooh” and “ahh” as the sand creeps into their shoes, while the women haul an incomprehensible amount of lace across the sand in 4-inch platform heels.  Between the romance and the comedy, it makes for great movie material.

Custom drink: Apple, Mango, Orange & Ginger from Lanikai Juice

But after a few hours at the beach, I had polished off my snacks and water and thirst began to nag.  Only one thing would appease the demands of my stomach:  Lanikai Juice.   Lanikai Juice is owned by two of the nicest people I’ve met on this island.  They treat their employees well, give back to the community and believe in giving their customers the best quality juices and food.  They use mostly organic and locally grown produce, so you can feel good about what you’re putting in your body.  They offer an array of tropical concoctions, but I opted to create my own.

Unfortunately, I had to wrap up my staycation after Lanikai Juice as I had a bit of work to tend to.  Nevertheless, it was the perfect way to spend an afternoon.  If you’re a visitor or a local with a bit more free time than I had, I recommend adding in lunch at Maui Tacos (across the street from Lanikai Juice) before hitting the beach.  Their burritos, fish tacos, and freshly made salsa are the best on the island.  And for those who crave an afternoon tipple, you can subsitute juice for a knock-out Mai Tai at Buzz’s.

Until next time, my friends.  Aloha.

Leave a Reply

